Free The Postcode

I saw an interesting article on TechCrunch about our national postcode database and how the Post Office owns it and only currently sell it on with a high-end corporate price tag. The article informs that if there was an alternative free postcode database system that could be developed via GPS collaboration, this would open up a host of location oriented apps. The Techcrunch article can be seen here.

I was so looking forward to exercising my citizen’s protest against the Post Office. I now have the app on my iPhone after visiting the iTunes store (here) but I can’t seem to get it started. It seems that I have to get my location accuracy to under 50 meters. I’m sitting here in my apartment popping in the postcode and it still says over 1000 meters. How did you get on with it? I still think it’s a good idea.

About Aristos Peters
I work rest and play in the digital space, with particular interest in digital startup companies and their need for seed, angel and VC investment. As a NED, I have worked with several start-ups, taking them through funding rounds and also work on investment acceleration and business growth helping companies to become investment ready. Currently about to launch the startup fundraising app D RISK IT (www.drisk.it).

Leave a Reply

